Okra. It’s a real thing.

Okra is real.

This past weekend I finally realized how truly different life and culture is in various regions of the United States alone. For example, Nashville and San Francisco are home to two completely different cultures of people and ways of life.

Sunday, I went to Cracker Barrel with a good friend who is originally from California. (And for those of you who don’t know, Cracker Barrel is a chain restaurant that serves southern style food. Which means everything is buttered, fried, and freaking delicious.) We both ordered and received our meals. My friend quickly noticed the side of fried okra I ordered and asked me what it was.

At first, I thought she was joking. But I discovered that she had never even seen okra. She didn’t know what okra was. I literally introduced her to a new vegetable.

From there, we went into an in-depth conversation about biscuits, fried foods, and hospitality. The fact that these things are apparently lacking in California blew my mind. I was literally dumbfounded. My friend was in just as much shock at the fact that these things actually existed where I’m from.

Ultimately, although we may all live in the same country, we might not live in the exact same ways. Our cultures from state to state vary drastically and are very interesting to explore.

And on a side note, if you haven’t tried fried okra, you need to do that ASAP.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

